Destiny's The Dark Below Released: Bungie's First Expansion Is Now Live, Bringing New Missions, Gear, And An Intimidating Raid

By Matthew Buzzi , Updated Dec 09, 2014 11:56 AM EST

Destiny's first expansion, The Dark Below, is now live and unlocked for those who pre-ordered or since purchased the new content.

See The Game Awards 2014 Winners Here 

The expansion adds a host of missions, gear, and Destiny's second raid, Crota's End. Several groups have already attempted runs through the raid--Bungie will announce the first to complete it later today.

In addition to the new weapons and armor (including some fancy exotic gear), The Dark Below increases the Light Level cap to 32, adds a new co-op Strike mission, and introduces a new character and quest-giver, Eris Morn. She will provide bounties and the Hive-based story missions. There are also three new Crucible multiplayer maps--The Cauldron, Skyshock, and Pantheon--and the EV-30 Tumbler Sparrow. The special edition vehicle, which can perform flips and tricks, is available for those who pre-ordered The Dark Below or purchase the expansion before January 15.

Our Review Of Civilization: Beyond Earth  

PlayStation players get an added bonus on both PS4 and PS3--an exclusive Strike (The Undying Mind) and exotic shotgun (The 4th Horseman), which won't appear on Xbox consoles for roughly one year. The Dark Below is available for purchase individually for $19.99 or through the Expansion Pass ($34.99), which will also give you access to the next expansion at a reduced cost.

© 2020 Game & Guide All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Join the Conversation

Real Time Analytics