PlayStation Network Will Be Down Thursday For Maintenance

By Juan G. Rodriguez , Updated Jan 15, 2013 04:24 PM EST
Close

The PlayStation Network will be offline on Jan. 17 for routine maintenance that will take place from 11am to 11pm Eastern Time.

As with previous maintenance periods, gamer will not be able to access the PlayStation Store, Store, account management and user registration. But gamers will be able to play games online, have access to application and continue to collect PlayStation Trophies. The trophies will likely be updated on the player's profiles after the update.

The maintenance will be done to help the network get ready for its next onslaught of big releases including Dead Space 3. Sony has been adding a lot of content to its paid online service. The original Darksiders recently join a list of free games on PlayStation Plus including, NBA Jam: On Fire Edition and Mega Man 9 and 10.

Here is the official announcement from Sony:

"Hi everyone! 2013 is off to a roaring start here on PSN, with tons of great games and promotions for PlayStation gamers, from the God of War: Ascension Multiplayer Beta for PlayStation Plus users, to the recent digital release of PS3 favorite Demon's Souls, to pre-orders going live for the digital version of Dead Space 3. 

In order to continue bringing you the best online games experience on PSN, we will perform routine maintenance beginning the morning of Thursday, January 17th. This maintenance will start at approximately 8:00AM PT (9:00AM MT / 10:00AM CT / 11:00 AM ET) and last until around 8:00PM PT (9:00PM MT / 10:00PM CT / 11:00PM ET). During the maintenance period, you may receive a maintenance notification when attempting to access PSN.

The PlayStation Store and Account Management will not be available during the maintenance period, but you will be able to access online play and apps provided that you have signed into PlayStation Network at some point between now and the time of the maintenance. So please be sure to sign in now if you wish to access the Network during Thursday's maintenance window.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, and we thank you for your support."

What will you do while the PlayStation Network is updating? What games will you be playing? Have you played the God of War: Acension Multiplayer Beta for PlayStation Plus users? Tell us what you are thinking in the comment in the section below... 

© 2020 Game & Guide All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Join the Conversation

Real Time Analytics