Star Wars Episode 7 Title Is Officially 'The Force Awakens'

By Matthew Buzzi , Updated Nov 06, 2014 01:29 PM EST

The name of the next Star Wars film has finally been announced: the upcoming movie will be officially titled Star Wars: Episode VII - The Force Awakens.

Getting To Know The Star Wars Episode VII's New Cast Members

The film is set to hit theaters on December 18, 2015, and most of all we've gotten so far is the official cast list. It features a bevy of returning characters, such as Mark Hamill's Luke Skywalker and Carrie Fisher's Princess Leia, as well as some new actors playing so-far-unannounced characters.

The announcement also stated that principal photography on The Force Awakens is done and dusted, putting production one step closer to its completion.

Microsoft Officially Completes $2.5 Billion Purchase Of Minecraft And Developer Mojang 

The cast includes Oscar winner Lupita Nyong'o, Game of Thrones' Gwendoline Christie, John Boyega, Andy Serkis, Adam Driver, and Max von Sydow. John Williams will be returning to score the film, perhaps one of the most important casting selections of all!

© 2020 Game & Guide All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Join the Conversation

Real Time Analytics