NCAA Football 2014 News: EA Sports Announces The Eight Athletes Who Will Represent The Schools For The Cover Vote

By Juan G. Rodriguez , Updated Feb 06, 2013 11:57 AM EST

EA Sports announced the eight athletes who are battling for the right to represent their school in the quarterfinals of the NCAA Football Cover vote. The athletes were chosen after their schools were selected in the earlier rounds of voting.

The quarterfinal voting is now open and will continue through Monday, Feb. 18 when EA Sports will announce the final four cover atheletes.

Here are the eight athletes with a quick bio provided by EA Sports:

Jarvis Jones, LB, Georgia: Jones enters the 2013 NFL Draft process as a surefire top-10 pick after dominating the SEC the last two seasons. Jones finished his career with 28 sacks, and led the nation in sacks (14.5) and tackles for loss (24.5) this season despite missing two games. He was also a finalist for the prestigious Bednarik, Lombardi, Nagurski, Butkus, and Lott Awards.

E.J. Manuel, QB, Florida State: The most accurate passer in Florida State history, Manuel helped lead the Seminoles to their first BCS Bowl victory since their 2000 National Championship season. In 2012, Manuel threw for 23 touchdowns and 10 interceptions, earning an Orange Bowl win.

Kenjon Barner, RB, Oregon: Barner was one of the centerpieces of Oregon's high-octane offense, racking up more than 1,700 rushing yards and 21 touchdowns in his senior season in Eugene. He delivered one of the season's signature offensive performances, rushing for 321 yards and five touchdowns in a wild 62-51 win at Southern California.

Ryan Swope, WR, Texas A&M: Swope is the most decorated wide receiver in the storied history of Aggie football after leaving College Station as the school's all-time leader in both receptions (252) and receiving yards (3,117). Swope was pivotal in Texas A&M's upset win over then-No.1 Alabama, hauling in 11 catches for 111 yards and a score.

Denard Robinson, QB/ATH, Michigan: Few players in NCAA history have possessed the game-breaking ability of Denard Robinson, better known to some as "Shoelace." He's one of just two quarterbacks in the history of college football to pass for 2,500 yards and rush for 1,500 yards in the same season, and also holds the NCAA record for most career rushing yards by a QB (4,495).

Eddie Lacy, RB, Alabama: The latest in the long line of dominant Alabama running backs, Lacy is trying to become the second Alabama cover athlete in the last three years (Heisman Trophy winner Mark Ingram graced the cover of NCAA Football 2012.) Lacy finished 2012 with 1,322 yards rushing and 17 touchdowns, averaging a whopping 6.5 yards per carry. Lacy was also huge in the BCS National Championship Game, rushing for 140 yards and two touchdowns for the Tide.

John Simon, DL, Ohio State: Consistently called "the heart and soul" of Ohio State's 2012 squad, Simon was named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year after leading the conference with nine sacks and ranking second in tackles for loss (14.5). Simon was a two-time captain for the Buckeyes, who finished the year as the only undefeated team in the FBS.

Tyler Eifert, TE, Notre Dame: The winner of the John Mackey Award, given annually to the nation's best tight end, Eifert led Notre Dame in receiving yards as the Irish earned a berth in the BCS National Championship Game. Eifert ranks first in school history for both career receptions (134) and receiving yards (1,779) by a tight end.

You can head over to the NCAA Football Facebook page to cast your vote and remember in order to vote for a player, you must "like" the image to vote for the athlete. 

© 2020 Game & Guide All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Join the Conversation

Real Time Analytics